PDA

View Full Version : FUTUREDIAL SUCKS


zipdrive007
June 30th 03, 06:20 PM
Just a heads up and a high recommendation. I had purchased the sync software
to mange my phonebook and I had to move it to another laptop. To make a long
story short they had sent me a "Patch" that I ran a number of times and
every time it would not accept the activation code. Turns out that when you
activate online you send some type of information about your computer to
them and they have it on file. I was not attempting to get around their
licencing practices and they knew that I was installing on another computer.
This was never brought up as an issue and they knew this all along. After
going around and around with them they would not issue another activation
for my laptop and said I needed to purchase a new copy. Bottom line is their
software is overpriced and is NOT the only choice.

ALSO you do NOT need to buy their software to use your phone as a modem if
its a Sanyo. Just get it from Sanyo's website.

FutureDial charges you seprate for a dialer, addressbook editor and a
ringtone editor.

GO HERE and use this is is MUCH BETTER!!!!!!!! And you get it all in one
product!



http://www.datapilot.com/productfeatures.htm

DLenos
June 30th 03, 06:59 PM
I had almost the same experience.. I was so fed up I bought the datapilot
software as well - works just as good...

I spent the $29 on the FD software and after 3 emails back and forth got no
where except tuff luck... I have the CD, Serial everything - I can install
it but they won't allow me to update my 1.3 v to the latest 1.9version...

http://www.datapilot.com/productfeatures.htm

go here... and get the data pilot software.

"zipdrive007" > wrote in message
...
> Just a heads up and a high recommendation. I had purchased the sync
software
> to mange my phonebook and I had to move it to another laptop. To make a
long
> story short they had sent me a "Patch" that I ran a number of times and
> every time it would not accept the activation code. Turns out that when
you
> activate online you send some type of information about your computer to
> them and they have it on file. I was not attempting to get around their
> licencing practices and they knew that I was installing on another
computer.
> This was never brought up as an issue and they knew this all along. After
> going around and around with them they would not issue another activation
> for my laptop and said I needed to purchase a new copy. Bottom line is
their
> software is overpriced and is NOT the only choice.
>
> ALSO you do NOT need to buy their software to use your phone as a modem if
> its a Sanyo. Just get it from Sanyo's website.
>
> FutureDial charges you seprate for a dialer, addressbook editor and a
> ringtone editor.
>
> GO HERE and use this is is MUCH BETTER!!!!!!!! And you get it all in one
> product!
>
>
>
> http://www.datapilot.com/productfeatures.htm
>
>

Brad
June 30th 03, 08:21 PM
Share it :)


"DLenos" > wrote in message
...
> I had almost the same experience.. I was so fed up I bought the datapilot
> software as well - works just as good...
>
> I spent the $29 on the FD software and after 3 emails back and forth got
no
> where except tuff luck... I have the CD, Serial everything - I can install
> it but they won't allow me to update my 1.3 v to the latest 1.9version...
>
> http://www.datapilot.com/productfeatures.htm
>
> go here... and get the data pilot software.
>
> "zipdrive007" > wrote in message
> ...
> > Just a heads up and a high recommendation. I had purchased the sync
> software
> > to mange my phonebook and I had to move it to another laptop. To make a
> long
> > story short they had sent me a "Patch" that I ran a number of times and
> > every time it would not accept the activation code. Turns out that when
> you
> > activate online you send some type of information about your computer to
> > them and they have it on file. I was not attempting to get around their
> > licencing practices and they knew that I was installing on another
> computer.
> > This was never brought up as an issue and they knew this all along.
After
> > going around and around with them they would not issue another
activation
> > for my laptop and said I needed to purchase a new copy. Bottom line is
> their
> > software is overpriced and is NOT the only choice.
> >
> > ALSO you do NOT need to buy their software to use your phone as a modem
if
> > its a Sanyo. Just get it from Sanyo's website.
> >
> > FutureDial charges you seprate for a dialer, addressbook editor and a
> > ringtone editor.
> >
> > GO HERE and use this is is MUCH BETTER!!!!!!!! And you get it all in one
> > product!
> >
> >
> >
> > http://www.datapilot.com/productfeatures.htm
> >
> >
>
>

zipdrive007
June 30th 03, 08:27 PM
Yes you can use a normal dial-up connectiod if you have one already. Also
thier Dialer will use dial-up connections you have already setup, plus you
get some neat stats so you can track usage on your "Unlimited" vision
connection.


"Michael Lynch" > wrote in message
...
>
> "zipdrive007" > wrote in message
> ...
> >
> > GO HERE and use this is is MUCH BETTER!!!!!!!! And you get it all in one
> > product!
> >
>
> Does DataPilot allow you to bypass the dialer portion? I have a Sanyo 8100
> and can already connect to the Net with it just fine--and don't want to
even
> install a 3rd-party dialer. But, I am interested in DataPilot's other
> functionality.
>
> Oh yea, I purchased SnapMedia for my (now gone) Sanyo 4900, and it was,
> IMHO, basically a waste of money. I'm not even going to try and get the
> latest version...
>
>
> --
> Mike Lynch
>
>

zipdrive007
June 30th 03, 08:31 PM
Download the software off their site, it's the same thing...You didn't read
how they do their ANTI-Piracy did you. It tags your machine, I'm guessing a
Harddrive serial or some other info that is hardware specific, sounds like
they are in bed with M$ and their "hardware profile" ability of XP. I have
no desire to be running a "Cracked" version since this is a legit machine,
my issue is that they leave "legit" users in the cold when it is there short
comings. I hope DataPilot puts them out of business.
"Brad" > wrote in message
news:[email protected]
> Share it :)
>
>
> "DLenos" > wrote in message
> ...
> > I had almost the same experience.. I was so fed up I bought the
datapilot
> > software as well - works just as good...
> >
> > I spent the $29 on the FD software and after 3 emails back and forth got
> no
> > where except tuff luck... I have the CD, Serial everything - I can
install
> > it but they won't allow me to update my 1.3 v to the latest
1.9version...
> >
> > http://www.datapilot.com/productfeatures.htm
> >
> > go here... and get the data pilot software.
> >
> > "zipdrive007" > wrote in message
> > ...
> > > Just a heads up and a high recommendation. I had purchased the sync
> > software
> > > to mange my phonebook and I had to move it to another laptop. To make
a
> > long
> > > story short they had sent me a "Patch" that I ran a number of times
and
> > > every time it would not accept the activation code. Turns out that
when
> > you
> > > activate online you send some type of information about your computer
to
> > > them and they have it on file. I was not attempting to get around
their
> > > licencing practices and they knew that I was installing on another
> > computer.
> > > This was never brought up as an issue and they knew this all along.
> After
> > > going around and around with them they would not issue another
> activation
> > > for my laptop and said I needed to purchase a new copy. Bottom line is
> > their
> > > software is overpriced and is NOT the only choice.
> > >
> > > ALSO you do NOT need to buy their software to use your phone as a
modem
> if
> > > its a Sanyo. Just get it from Sanyo's website.
> > >
> > > FutureDial charges you seprate for a dialer, addressbook editor and a
> > > ringtone editor.
> > >
> > > GO HERE and use this is is MUCH BETTER!!!!!!!! And you get it all in
one
> > > product!
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > http://www.datapilot.com/productfeatures.htm
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>

tom ronson
June 30th 03, 08:35 PM
"Michael Lynch" > wrote in message
...
>
> Does DataPilot allow you to bypass the dialer portion?

Indeed it does Mike, use what you want and leave the rest alone. All user
selectable --- and it will work with a host of email programs for contact
synchronization, unlike the other product, which interfaces with outlook
only (last I looked).

Datapilot is a nice little product, and as long as FD is busy shooting
themselves in the head why bother with them?

All the best

bobbybobbertson
June 30th 03, 08:43 PM
you don't need third party software to access the internet on your sprint
phone.
http://205.137.195.84/servlet/Selectpage

Get the "connection manager" from the above site. Get the $20 USB cable at
RadioShack and install the free software from above and off you go!!

ps
I had trouble with my laptop finding the driver. I had to point the new
hardware wizard to the "drivers" folder of the uncompressed download file
from the above site.





"zipdrive007" > wrote in message
...
> Just a heads up and a high recommendation. I had purchased the sync
software
> to mange my phonebook and I had to move it to another laptop. To make a
long
> story short they had sent me a "Patch" that I ran a number of times and
> every time it would not accept the activation code. Turns out that when
you
> activate online you send some type of information about your computer to
> them and they have it on file. I was not attempting to get around their
> licencing practices and they knew that I was installing on another
computer.
> This was never brought up as an issue and they knew this all along. After
> going around and around with them they would not issue another activation
> for my laptop and said I needed to purchase a new copy. Bottom line is
their
> software is overpriced and is NOT the only choice.
>
> ALSO you do NOT need to buy their software to use your phone as a modem if
> its a Sanyo. Just get it from Sanyo's website.
>
> FutureDial charges you seprate for a dialer, addressbook editor and a
> ringtone editor.
>
> GO HERE and use this is is MUCH BETTER!!!!!!!! And you get it all in one
> product!
>
>
>
> http://www.datapilot.com/productfeatures.htm
>
>

boe
June 30th 03, 08:54 PM
Download the one off Kazaa - it seems to work on more than one machine
without issue.

But I digress, I agree that the software sucks and isn't worth downloading.
They promised scheduling ages ago and now they have no new news regarding
this.

"zipdrive007" > wrote in message
...
> Download the software off their site, it's the same thing...You didn't
read
> how they do their ANTI-Piracy did you. It tags your machine, I'm guessing
a
> Harddrive serial or some other info that is hardware specific, sounds like
> they are in bed with M$ and their "hardware profile" ability of XP. I have
> no desire to be running a "Cracked" version since this is a legit machine,
> my issue is that they leave "legit" users in the cold when it is there
short
> comings. I hope DataPilot puts them out of business.
> "Brad" > wrote in message
> news:[email protected]
> > Share it :)
> >
> >
> > "DLenos" > wrote in message
> > ...
> > > I had almost the same experience.. I was so fed up I bought the
> datapilot
> > > software as well - works just as good...
> > >
> > > I spent the $29 on the FD software and after 3 emails back and forth
got
> > no
> > > where except tuff luck... I have the CD, Serial everything - I can
> install
> > > it but they won't allow me to update my 1.3 v to the latest
> 1.9version...
> > >
> > > http://www.datapilot.com/productfeatures.htm
> > >
> > > go here... and get the data pilot software.
> > >
> > > "zipdrive007" > wrote in message
> > > ...
> > > > Just a heads up and a high recommendation. I had purchased the sync
> > > software
> > > > to mange my phonebook and I had to move it to another laptop. To
make
> a
> > > long
> > > > story short they had sent me a "Patch" that I ran a number of times
> and
> > > > every time it would not accept the activation code. Turns out that
> when
> > > you
> > > > activate online you send some type of information about your
computer
> to
> > > > them and they have it on file. I was not attempting to get around
> their
> > > > licencing practices and they knew that I was installing on another
> > > computer.
> > > > This was never brought up as an issue and they knew this all along.
> > After
> > > > going around and around with them they would not issue another
> > activation
> > > > for my laptop and said I needed to purchase a new copy. Bottom line
is
> > > their
> > > > software is overpriced and is NOT the only choice.
> > > >
> > > > ALSO you do NOT need to buy their software to use your phone as a
> modem
> > if
> > > > its a Sanyo. Just get it from Sanyo's website.
> > > >
> > > > FutureDial charges you seprate for a dialer, addressbook editor and
a
> > > > ringtone editor.
> > > >
> > > > GO HERE and use this is is MUCH BETTER!!!!!!!! And you get it all in
> one
> > > > product!
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > http://www.datapilot.com/productfeatures.htm
> > > >
> > > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>

redracer3892
July 10th 03, 01:20 AM
"Dr Wakk" > wrote in message k.net>...
> try routing your calls thru your DUN using your area code and the #xxx
> number that accesses the vision web. no more crappy bandwidth optimizing
> found thru futuredial and pcs connection manager software this way.........
>
> "Michael Lynch" > wrote in message
> ...
> >
> > "zipdrive007" > wrote in message
> > ...
> > >
> > > GO HERE and use this is is MUCH BETTER!!!!!!!! And you get it all in one
> > > product!
> > >
> >
> > Does DataPilot allow you to bypass the dialer portion? I have a Sanyo 8100
> > and can already connect to the Net with it just fine--and don't want to
> even
> > install a 3rd-party dialer. But, I am interested in DataPilot's other
> > functionality.
> >
> > Oh yea, I purchased SnapMedia for my (now gone) Sanyo 4900, and it was,
> > IMHO, basically a waste of money. I'm not even going to try and get the
> > latest version...
> >
> >
> > --
> > Mike Lynch

Futuredial is the worst! Lousy tech support and lousy software. I hope
someone comes up with something better..It wouldn't take much to
outshine them!
> >
> >
> >

Google